Such a privilege

This past weekend was one for the books. Rob, my sister in law, and myself went to see Hamilton. And it was a.maz.ing!!

So inspiring

So much talent

So beautiful

The fact that we were even able to see it was a privilege. Like, a real privilege. We are fortunate enough to have the money to purchase these tickets. To pay for parking in the city. To go our for a celebratory dinner afterwords in the city. To be inspired by a group of people who have trained their whole lives to belt out these ballads on a stage in front of hundreds. The privilege to witness this musical that is giving people of color in the theater world a place to shine.

So. much. talent.

It was unbelievable. Also kinda wish I could be Lin-Manuel Miranda and Vanessa Nadal’s friend. Maybe one day šŸ˜‰

To be able to bare witness to this amazing piece of art is a privilege I hope to never take for granted. To look back at where we have come from and where we are now is mind blowing. I am thankful for the times I can reflect on what was and what is.

In the show Hamilton I really connected with Eliza. The wife of a man who was trying to change things. A woeful relationship (at times) but one of love and understanding. The one who was behind all the stories. She was able to continue his legacy. So often these characters, the one’s who lift up those to make it possible for change, can be overlooked. But I see you

“And I ask myself, have I done enough? Will they tell your story?”

187490B0-E156-4666-83D7-6B3FCA776A6E

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started